The British Society of Neuroradiologists.

Standards, Education and Research in Neuroradiology.

BSNR President 2014-15

BSNR President
2014 - 2016:
Dr Christopher
Rowland Hill

The 2015 Annual Scientific Meeting of the Society will be in Sheffield on 9th-10th October. Nigel Hoggard and his colleagues have compiled an enticing and diverse scientific program. The James Bull lecture - Can we build a nano-submarine to go inside? will be delivered by Tony Ryan, Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Sheffield. The meeting will finish with the Conference Dinner at the magnificent venue of Chatsworth House, one of Englands greatest stately homes.

For the first time the ASM will be preceded by a 1 day Teaching Course for neuroradiology and radiology trainees, organised by Tim Hodgson and his colleagues. The course has been fully subscribed for some time, with a healthy reserve list. It is intended that this will become a regular precursor to the ASM, under the auspices of the BSNRs Academic Subcommittee.

Since the excellent meeting in Belfast last year the Societys various committees have been busy working on a number of projects and tasks, not least the modernisation of the Societys constitution which we hope will be adopted at the AGM. The aims and objectives of the Society are unchanged and the bulk of the changes are to bring the constitution in line with current legal and fiscal obligations.

The emergence of strong evidence for the efficacy of intra-arterial thrombectomy in selected patients with acute stroke poses a very major challenge for the UK neuroradiological community. As well as delivery of the intervention there is a requirement for rapid high quality diagnostic imaging, whenever and wherever these patients present. The BSNR is working closely with the RCR, UKNG and other key professional bodies to establish the necessary standards for training and service delivery that will ensure the benefits of this treatment are maximised and to develop a strategy for the eventual provision of a 24 hour, 7 day service across the UK.

On another front, the successful du Boulay Professorship continues as a double act with Drs Rob Dineen and Adam Waldman the incumbents for 2015-2016. Several visits are arranged for the coming year.

CRH August 2015


View All


View All